8.8 C
New York
Sunday, December 10, 2023

Women’s World Cup: What to Know

The majority of the favorites and normal suspects advanced quickly in the initial round of certification, producing an entry list that consisted of both soccer names fans need to acknowledge and a couple of that may raise eyebrows:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Haiti, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, the Philippines, Portugal, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United States, Vietnam, Zambia.

There will be 32 groups at the Women’s World Cup this year, up from 24 from the last competition in France in 2019, from 16 at the ones prior to that and from 12 in the inaugural occasion in 1991. However the field was completed just after a playoff competition in February in New Zealand, where 10 groups showed up for playoffs to choose the last 3 locations.

Those areas went to:

Portugal, which beat Cameroon, 2-1, on a penalty shot in injury time to make its very first Women’s World Cup journey. Its reward? Portugal landed in a group with the United States, the Netherlands and Vietnam.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles